Round 2 applications for our Leadership Development Program are now open!


Learning areas

Learning areas are the subjects you are qualified to teach. Check this page to see if your learning areas are currently open for applications.


To be eligible for the Leadership Development Program, candidates must be able to enrol in at least two* learning areas

We are committed to placing subject specialists in classrooms that need them. However placement within a school depends on both school demand as well as what you are qualified to teach, known as your learning areas.

The learning areas you’re eligible to enrol in depend on your prior academic study and on your placement jurisdiction. During the selection process, Teach for Australia will assess your transcripts to determine your possible enrolment areas.

*In most cases, you will need to be eligible for two learning areas, but for some subjects you only need one. Please refer to the table below.

Leadership Development Program

Applications open 18 February

Learning areas

Find out if your learning area(s) are currently open for applications

Applications for our Leadership Development Program are currently closed and will re-open on 18 February 2021. Please check back later to see learning area status.

Learning areas close as accepted candidates fill our quotas within each learning area. We encourage you to apply as soon as possible to ensure we are still accepting applications for your learning area.

Learning Area Status
Biology Closed
Business Management Closed
Chemistry* Closed
Drama Closed
Earth Science Closed
Economics Closed
English Literature* Closed
Environmental Science Closed
Geography Closed
Health and Human Development Closed
History Closed
ICT & Digital Technology Closed
Languages other than English* Closed
Legal Studies Closed
Maths* (includes Engineering) Closed
Media Closed
Music* Closed
Outdoor Education Closed
Physical Education Closed
Physics (includes Engineering) Closed
Politics Closed
Psychology Closed
TESOL Closed
Visual Arts Closed

* For subjects marked with an asterisk, you need only one learning area.